Thread: Go Pro LUT - Protune RAW WB to BMDfilm

Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 102
  1. #21  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    6
    Any beta version ready to try?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #22  
    Senior Member Tom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Manchester/UK
    Posts
    1,597
    Ok folks here we go:


    This is not quite as perfect as I wanted it to before sharing a beta version, but I have had a few requests sent to me expressing an interest to just try it "as is" - so here it is:


    Notes:

    For this LUT to work properly:

    Camera must be set to Protune Flat, Raw Whitebalance

    Ideally you should transcode it to Cineform or ProRes before grading

    I have gone for a 3 node setup on each example:

    NODE1 - White balance (this is critical, try to nail it as best as possible)
    NODE2 - Apply the LUT
    NODE3 - either do your grade or apply an output LUT such as My VisionT LUT or Captain Hooks Lut's for the BMCC or Pocket camera.


    Remember, this LUT is designed to try and make the Protune image as close as possible to the BMDFILM image, as seen in the BMCC 2.5k and Pocket camera. It will not work miracles, you will need to adjust white balance and overall exposure gain in the first node in other to try and match the image as much as possible.

    Here are some examples where I have done exactly as described above - nothing more to match them. Using either my LUT or Captain Hooks LUT.










    Other tips - I set my camera to never go above ASA 400, and I also sometimes set exposure compensation to -0.5 to protect my highlights.





    So, please try this out, and give feedback also. I expect it to need a lot more work, but it would help me to see how it works for other people in all the various circumstances.

    Remember, 8 bit highly compressed footage is never going to look the same as 10bit high bit rate footage, or raw - but hopefully this will help to make the matching process easier and quicker.

    When this is finally released, I will have it on my website - but if you want to show your appreciation right now, there are donate buttons available on there: http://www.tommajerski.com/research.html




    DOWNLOAD

    Older versions:
    Version BETA 15: http://tommajerski.com/downloads/gpl...ILM_beta15.zip

    http://tommajerski.com/downloads/gpl...ILM_beta17.zip
    Beta version 17

    Latest BETA:
    http://tommajerski.com/downloads/gpl...ILM_beta20.zip
    Beta Version 20

    For those not sure how to install the lut:
    http://www.tommajerski.com/how-to-install-lut.html



    Sorry for the slow progress, been quite busy and unable to dedicate a lot of time to this.




    Last edited by Tom; 05-14-2014 at 02:58 PM.
    Tom Majerski
    Cinematographer / Photographer / CGI Artist / Filmmaker

    http://www.TetraGrade.com
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm5157752/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #23  
    Senior Member Hearnia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Delray Beach FL
    Posts
    538
    Awesome Tom thank you. I like it a lot so far. I had to decrease the saturation a good bit when using your LUT as the output - is that normal?

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ds0qxEfjlMw&hd=1
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #24  
    Senior Member 4saken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,286
    Amazing stuff Tom. But I have to agree with Hearnia, the saturation is very strong, I had to take it down as well.

    Here's two frame grabs from some aerial footage with captain hooks vibe LUT applied.



    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #25  
    Senior Member 4saken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,286
    and here's two more from a clip that was shot in protunes, but not with the wb set to raw. but with a bit of tweaking even this can be used.



    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #26  
    Senior Member Tom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Manchester/UK
    Posts
    1,597
    Not sure about the saturation problem,

    could those experiencing it specify the exact node chain?
    Tom Majerski
    Cinematographer / Photographer / CGI Artist / Filmmaker

    http://www.TetraGrade.com
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm5157752/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #27  
    Senior Member 4saken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,286
    Well, I'm not doing this in Resolve since my macbook air won't run it, but the steps I'm doing in Premiere are pretty much the same like you suggested. Get in the footage, adjust exposure if needed, do white balance, apply your LUT and then add Hooks LUT. And the white balance node also needs to desaturate everything by about 30%, otherwise the image looks a bit to crazy.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #28  
    Senior Member Tom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Manchester/UK
    Posts
    1,597
    Hmmm...

    I know its a bit of a hassle, but could you share a shot of the footage at each stage of the chain?

    Without any saturation correction:
    Untouched - Whitebalanced - my lut - output lut

    Thanks
    Tom Majerski
    Cinematographer / Photographer / CGI Artist / Filmmaker

    http://www.TetraGrade.com
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm5157752/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #29  
    Senior Member Tom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Manchester/UK
    Posts
    1,597
    Here is an example of the stages for me:

    untouched from camera:

    untouched_1.3.1.jpg




    White balance and gain applied:
    wb and gain_1.3.2.jpg




    My input LUT applied:
    input lut_1.3.3.jpg



    Final Output LUT applied (visionT)
    output lut_1.3.4.jpg





    Do these look similar to those experiencing saturation issues?

    Are you certain you are applying it to flat footage? and not "GoPro Color" - if unsure, could I see the an untouched frame?
    Tom Majerski
    Cinematographer / Photographer / CGI Artist / Filmmaker

    http://www.TetraGrade.com
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm5157752/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #30  
    Senior Member 4saken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,286
    ok, I just did another quick test and it looks like the saturation problem was only with clips that weren't recorded in protunes raw. this time I made sure it was set to raw and now it's matching pretty close. not 100% there yet, but close none the less.



    Reply With Quote  
     

Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •