Thread: Choppy playback in resolve why?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1 Choppy playback in resolve why? 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    159
    hey guys , i wanted to ask , has anyone had issues with resolve , i downloaded the 9 beta version a couple of days ago to start learning myself how to work with it , but everytime i try to playback a clip or image sequence , its choppy and lags

    my systems specs is i run on pc - 16gb of ram , 6tb of WD hdd , i7 920 , Geforce 9500 gt , dell u2711

    i tried to work with the ikonoskop sample cinema dng , at first i thought it was maybe because my system cant play this raw files smoothly ,
    but than i tried other formats and it seems that everything is choppy in playback , tried to play with the settings and preferences , does anybody encountered with this problem and HELP me , is it because of my old graphic card ?
    (btw: on speedgrade the cinemadng files run great and smooth ) ?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    31
    It's because you are not following the Resolve Windows Config guide (available on the web site where you downloaded the Resolve software) as far as using supported graphics cards. Yes, your single 9500gt card is probably the main issue.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    159
    ok i will look into that , i thought it was time to replace graphic card anyhow , thanks dwaine
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    14
    Old topic I know but I'm struggling with a similiar problem. I got choppy playback. On a 25p timeline I get more or less 25fps but the playback is still choppy. Is this normal - I mean are the rest of you experiencing this to? Or is the playback smooth for you?

    I'm on Resolve Lite 9, system: i7 950, 24GB DDR3, GTX470, and the material is playing of a single 500GB HDD that has a single platter.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Frank Glencairn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,028
    Sometimes it helps to set the monitoring to 4:2:2.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Frank Glencairn View Post
    Sometimes it helps to set the monitoring to 4:2:2.
    I actually already had it set to 4:2:2 but I've discovered that if I set it to a lover resolution that I get smooth playback (it has to be set to SD).
    Weird - this "Video Monitoring" is only for I/O right? But currently I have no I/O device on this workstation but this is still affecting my
    performance...
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    14
    This won't work because when set to SD the waveform and other graphs get scaled down to the lower resolution.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    14
    Looks like my system isn't strong enough to playback at real time I'm grading DNxHD 185 10 bit material. Interesting, I thought that it would play this in RT...
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    14
    Okey, I get RT playback if I turn of the scopes or if I substantially scale them down (right now I have them almost fullscreen on my second monitor).

    Talking to my self here, nice
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,139
    9500 GT. Get an EVGA GTX 570 with 2.5BGs RAM. around $200.00.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •