Thread: Arranging Clips in Resolve, clip length only?

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1 Arranging Clips in Resolve, clip length only? 
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    95
    hello, I am using the latest Resolve with pro res clips from my BMCC and cannot figure out how to list my clips by name, not by clip time length, while in the COLOR window. It is hard to work when clips from one scene are arranged in different areas of the timeline while doing my color grading. If all the clips from the same shot ( ie, same scene with same exposure and color balance ) could be next to each other than I can easily move from one clip to the next, is this possible? Right now I have to find clips spread out of a long timeline and try to remember which memory to load etc.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    344
    This is annoying that Resolve doesn't default to an alphabetical listing of the clips, isn't it?

    To get the alphabetical listing, just go to the Conform tab and hit the "+" in the upper-left window. This will create a new timeline. Use the Color tab with this timeline (in the Color tab, you can select the timeline at the top of the preview window).
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    95
    wow thanks so much, it worked. I called da vinci support and they said this was not possible!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    31
    Clips on the Master timeline are sorted in ascending timecode order. When you create a new timeline using the + in the upper window of the Conform page, as described by Jason, the new timeline will be the same as the Master timeline. So I'm confused how just creating a new timeline like this would have gotten you the results you describe. On page 225 of the Resolve manual, it describes how to create a BLANK timeline. If you do this, you can then sort the Media pool on the Conform page using any of the column headings, and then drag the clips into the blank timeline in whatever sorted order you desire.

    Page 315 of the Resolve manual describes other timeline sorting options, using A (Record) mode and C (Source) mode display modes, assuming you are working with a conformed timeline.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member CaptainHook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,181
    Quote Originally Posted by Dwaine View Post
    Clips on the Master timeline are sorted in ascending timecode order. When you create a new timeline using the + in the upper window of the Conform page, as described by Jason, the new timeline will be the same as the Master timeline.
    The master timeline with BMCC footage is just about NEVER in timecode order, only creating a new timeline seems to sort it.
    Blackmagic Design
    My BMD LUTs.

    **Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
    Reply With Quote  
     

Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •