Thread: Resolve 16 guesses

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 51
  1. #41  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    168
    Quote Originally Posted by Will Vazquez View Post
    New track-based option for Fusion instead of nodes. I know nodes are great, but man, after spending a lifetime on AE and Motion, nodes really suck. Just to do a simple green screen key is a mission... at least for me.
    It's not very difficult

    Code:
    [Footage] --> [Keyer] --> f:[Merge]
                                   b:
                                   ^
                                   |
                             [Footage2]
    The keyer is an effect that you place on Footage. Then you just have to Merge them. Connect Footage1 to the foreground input, Footage2 to the background input.

    That being said, the differences between layer-based compositing and Node-based aren't exactly minor so you can't just provide an option to switch between the two.

    Quote Originally Posted by stip View Post
    100% agree. Timeline/tracks are intuitive to use, node based like Fusion right now needs clean logic thinking, many creative people are having a hard time with that, I know I do. It's definitely a hurdle I just can't overcome.
    I understand that nodes and merges might seem unnatural for compositing but they're actually a lot of more consistent and sensible in how they work than layers. I would even argue that layer-based compositing feels hacky compared to node-based. Here's an example of what I'm talking about.

    Here's an example of something someone might set up in AE.
    Code:
    Timeline
       Null1
        x:1
        y:3
       RedSolid  | 3D layer
         x:0
         y:10
         z:0
       BlueSolid  | 3D layer
         x:0
         y:10
         z:-50
       Null3  | Parent: Null2
        x:23
        y:15
       Null2  | Parent: Null1
        x:6
        y:4
       Solid  | Parent: Null3
         x:0
         y:10
    Notice that we have Null objects at the top of the layer stack so that we can apply multiple transforms to Solid. Nulls are weird because you generally think of each layer of the timeline as assets yet these aren't assets, they're just transform containers. AE even treats them like assets as you can put effects on a null object but they don't do anything. In order a Null to have any effect on the scene, it needs to be the parent of something else. Notice that, in this case, the ordering of the layers doesn't tell you what's parented to what.

    The other thing that you might want to assume is that higher layers are on top of lower layers in a composition. However you'll notice there are also two 3D layers. BlueSolid is the layer below RedSolid but BlueSolid's z axis is set so that it's actually in front of RedSolid.

    Now lets look at a slight modification of this

    Code:
    Timeline
       Null1
        x:1
        y:3
       RedSolid  | 3D layer
         x:0
         y:10
         z:0
       Null3  | Parent: Null2
        x:23
        y:15
       Null2  | Parent: Null1
        x:6
        y:4
       Solid  | Parent: Null3
         x:0
         y:10
       BlueSolid  | 3D layer
         x:0
         y:10
         z:-50
    Okay so now BlueSolid is at the bottom of the layer list. What happens here? Well BlueSolid is actually behind everything now as it's being converted to 2D before Solid is composited on top of it. Then Red Solid is composited on top of that.

    That means that there are sort of meta-layers that get created every time you go from 2D to 3D. So if, in the original example, RedSolid and BlueSolid are secretly being grouped and placed into a secret 2D layer. Can you apply effects to this secret 2D layer or transform that whole 3D group? No, neither is accessible. You have to pre-compose those 3D layers which gives you

    Code:
    Effects : Composition2
       Curves
    
    Timeline: Composition1
       Null1
        x:1
        y:3
       >Composition2
       Null3  | Parent: Null2
        x:23
        y:15
       Null2  | Parent: Null1
        x:6
        y:4
       Solid  | Parent: Null3
         x:0
         y:10
    
    Timeline: Composition2
       RedSolid  | 3D layer
         x:0
         y:10
         z:0
       BlueSolid  | 3D layer
          x:0
          y:10
          z:-50
    This is kind of annoying because now we'll have two timelines and we can't see everything in just one.

    Nodes make this whole process simpler.
    Code:
    [Solid]--->[Transform1]--->[Transform2]--->[Transform3]--->b:[Merge]
      x:0          x:23            x:6              x:1            f:
      y:10         y:15            y:4              y:3            ^
                                                                   |
    [RedSolid]--->[Merge3D]-->[Renderer3D]--->[Curves]-------------|
      x:0            ^ 
      y:10           |
      z:0            |
                [BlueSolid]
               	x:0
         		y:10
         		z:-50
    First you'll notice that nulls aren't needed in node-based compositors because you just connect multiple transform nodes. The transforms are still parented to each other but it's extremely clear how they're parented at a glance. Null objects are really just kind of a hack to get around how layer-based compositors see transforms as properties instead of operations.

    You'll also see that RedSolid and BlueSolid are connected to a Merge3D node. This node drops all concept of layering and allows you to group as many 3D objects as you want. You can also connect 3D objects to multiple Merge3D nodes so that you can make separate groups of 3D objects that can share members. And yes, you can apply transforms to these groups.

    The Renderer3D node clearly states where your 3D object group becomes a 2D layers and this layer can then have effects applied directly to it without any extra steps.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #42  
    Member OlaHaldor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    66
    8K is the big thing, looking at photos on Instagram. Will be interesting to see if they bring more to the table than 8K support.
    There's a whole lot of 8K broadcast equipment presented on banners as well.

    https://www.instagram.com/p/Bv-Iw8OgDA5/



    https://www.instagram.com/p/Bv-N1jtgFs9/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #43  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,183
    added a "Cut" Page

    https://www.blackmagicdesign.com

    From the NAB 2019 Technical Product Overview video, starting from 1:18:00.

    Basically a non-traditional, simplified editing page to use on smaller monitors and cut all the time consuming micro management. "Double Timeline" looks pretty awesome to get rid of zooming in and out constantly. Some other very nice features.
    Last edited by stip; 04-08-2019 at 12:54 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #44  
    Senior Member Michael Sandiford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Between Arizona and Hereoford
    Posts
    367
    Also has content aware fill but arguably my favourite new feature is the elastic waveforms which I see being able to do thins way beyond the ADR matching.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #45  
    Member OlaHaldor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    66
    Face analyzer works quite well. This'll be extremely handy!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #46  
    Senior Member shijan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Odesa, UA
    Posts
    1,145
    That Cut timeline is waste of developers time. It only makes things complicated. It can't even zoom with scroll yet. They better redesign simplify and improve original timeline.
    Other new features are really great. Realtime Gamut scope looks soo cool. Finally we can see how BMD color gamuts looks like.
    All my custom made accessories for BMMCC/BMMSC now available here https://lavky.com/radioproektor/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #47  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    455
    Quote Originally Posted by shijan View Post
    That Cut timeline is waste of developers time.
    Lol yeah every editor I've talked to about the new Resolve 16 just laughed at it.

    It convolutes the tabs, they should get rid of it.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #48  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,183
    Quote Originally Posted by shijan View Post
    That Cut timeline is waste of developers time. It only makes things complicated. It can't even zoom with scroll yet. They better redesign simplify and improve original timeline.
    They specifically state that it's a work in progress page as of now. I'm glad they're willing to try new ways, you can always stick to the traditional editing page.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #49  
    Senior Member Michael Sandiford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Between Arizona and Hereoford
    Posts
    367
    The cut timeline looks great to me.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #50  
    Senior Member Asyndeton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    460
    Quote Originally Posted by GeranSimpson View Post
    Lol yeah every editor I've talked to about the new Resolve 16 just laughed at it.

    It convolutes the tabs, they should get rid of it.
    Maybe try it out before laughing about it and saying it should be removed? I thought some of the ideas were pretty good.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. besides the cameras and panels, an other guesses on NAB
    By daydreamersproductions in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-16-2017, 10:34 AM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-29-2015, 02:44 AM
  3. Does it cost money to upgrade from Resolve 9 to Resolve 10?
    By Asladek in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2014, 01:15 AM
  4. Resolve Lite AND Full Resolve on same machine ?
    By pacman829 in forum DaVinci Resolve
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-10-2013, 10:39 AM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-12-2012, 09:26 PM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •