Thread: Sharing project/database

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1 Sharing project/database 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    123
    Hi!

    I have a question regarding sharing a project with an editor on a different location.
    We both have same files in same folders (different drive letters, but structure is the same). With premiere we can just send eachother *.prproj files and that's it.

    How can this be done with resolve 15? It's a multicam 3 hours long timeline...

    thanks!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    186
    if you both have the media, create a DRP by exporting the project in project manager, and send that.. i just made a DRP of the feature i'm working on, it has 80 hours of rushes and 25 timelines, the DRP is about 40Mb, so easy to send

    change source folder (maybe cache folder and callibration lut if used) at the other end to match the local machine

    i make DRP's every few hours as for safety, fast and easy to do
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member DPStewart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    The Puget Sound
    Posts
    3,679
    Quote Originally Posted by dermot shane View Post
    i make DRP's every few hours as for safety, fast and easy to do
    Brilliant.
    I am going to immediately add this to my safety backup procedures.
    Thanks for the tip.
    Cameras: Blackmagic Cinema Camera, Blackmagic Pocket Camera (x2), Panasonic GH2 (x2), Sony RX100 ii, Canon 6D, Canon T2i,
    Mics: Sennheiser, AKG, Shure, Sanken, Audio-Technica, Audix
    Lights: Every Chinese clone you can imagine
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    975
    I assume both parties must have the same version of resolve. Would a project created in the free version open in studio? I'm guessing the reverse would for sure not work, but as long as it didn't use features exclusive to the studio version it would be nice.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,166
    Both ways it works. Only effects from Studio would be watermarked in the free one.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    975
    Quote Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
    Both ways it works. Only effects from Studio would be watermarked in the free one.
    Oh, cool. Will have to try then, thanks. Could probably share projects via google drive or something like that. If P4k ever gets delivered I should have the studio license. Currently the director I work with has studio on his system, which is more powerful and does alll the final renders, I'm still on the free version, but do a first colour pass, it would be so butch better to just send project , rather than rendering down between passes. The director mostly edits, and won't touch colour until picture is locked, but this sort of workflow would allow my vision to be present early in the process, we never bother with grading rushes, and wait till there are some scenes to work on.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    123
    great, that is what I was looking for.


    thank you!
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. Any issues sharing SD cards between pocket camera and gh4?
    By marshallbaker in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-22-2015, 11:49 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-13-2015, 10:24 AM
  3. Resolve 11.1 crashed and project gone. But still in database?
    By Note Suwanchote in forum DaVinci Resolve
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-30-2014, 10:24 AM
  4. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-22-2012, 12:48 PM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •