Thread: Is overexposing by 2 stops the same as using ISO200 on BMCC/BMPCC?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 14 of 14
  1. #11  
    Senior Member Frank Glencairn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,865
    So I get clean blacks without noise (and yeah, that only works with raw)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #12  
    Gotcha.
    Pocket 4K "Chaplin".
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #13  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    111
    How does that only work in raw? If I expose a scene at 200ISO and shoot at 800ISO, does raw really matter?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #14  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Jamaica
    Posts
    1
    Think of the camera sensor as a roll of film celluloid. It is rated as 800 ISO. Therefore, setting the ISO effectively only affects the camera's metre, histogram and such; which in an under exposed scene, for example, will tell you to adjust upwards by x stops to gain a proper exposure ( assuming we all know how a camera's metre works, exposing for 50% grey ).

    When you are shooting Raw, changing your ISO only affects your metre readings. It will be up to you in post to push up or pull down the exposure by x stops ( a reason why the info on the slate is important ).

    When shooting in ProRes, you are giving up control in post to save space and time. That being said, when you change the ISO, you are also changing what is being directly recorded into the camera. The product when taken into post will be under exposed, if captured @ ISO 200 and changing nothing else. Why? because the natural rating for the camera's sensor is ISO 800.

    That, for example, is why cameras coming out now with dual ISO rating are appealing.


    Quote Originally Posted by Frank Glencairn View Post
    Yeah, basically that's what I do for moody dark shots.
    I set the camera to 200, light till i'm happy, switch back to 800, and shoot.

    Have a look: https://frankglencairn.wordpress.com...ergiversation/
    I figure, setting the ISO @ 200 while lighting lets him preview how dark final look will be after post; and metre the lights and such. Then actually shooting @ ISO 800 lets him see everything in frame clearly on the monitor while recording - correct me if I'm wrong please.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. Can you tell me How Many Stops of Light I am Losing...?
    By Revdesign Industries in forum Footage / Frames
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-14-2016, 04:16 AM
  2. ND filter stops recommendations for S16 sensor - BMPCC
    By demoboyBMC in forum Lens Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-22-2013, 06:45 PM
  3. Replies: 28
    Last Post: 04-12-2013, 02:17 AM
  4. RED DRAGON has 20 stops of DR
    By BM4EVER in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 02-12-2013, 06:47 PM
  5. 13 Stops of Dynamic Range: How can we use it?
    By Sri in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 06-04-2012, 02:21 AM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •