Thread: Ursa Mini 4K vs. Sony A7s ii vs. waiting...

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
  1. #1 Ursa Mini 4K vs. Sony A7s ii vs. waiting... 
    Hi Everyone,

I'm a writer/director with a background in post-production. Looking to purchase my own camera due to frequency of shoots and building my own knowledge of lighting/camera work, etc. without having to go out and rent gear every single time.

My focus will be on mostly narrative work, but in that there's a lot of small, micro budget aspects that sometimes push you into the guerrilla filmmaking zone, limited resources, etc.

I originally wanted to go for the Ursa Mini Pro 4.6k, but after adding up all the accessories, lenses, and so forth, I was getting a number out of my budget. Frankly, I feel it's too much for what I'm doing to start. Instead my focus shifted to the Sony A7S ii. I've used it before and even matched some of its footage to a RED Epic (shooting in log space) so I feel comfortable with its video performance if handled correctly (though the 8-bit is not ideal in the least).

I do keep hearing rumors of the A7S iii... which wasn't announced at CES this year. Still, some people insist they will have it this year due to Panasonic's GH5s being released (possibly NAB). What attracts me to the A7S ii, is its performance in low light, size and price. Although if the iii came out, I'd hope for 10 bit 4:2:2 instead of the 8 bit 4:2:0. But a lot of those same rumors don't necessarily mention an increase in bit depth... but who knows!

Then I looked into the URSA MINI 4K, which isn't a bad price and within my budget.

I do have a couple Q's though:

Does anyone have any feedback about the Ursa Mini 4K in general? I've heard mixed results, with a lot of people blaming the critics lack of lighting skills and unrealistic expectations for their dissatisfaction with the Ursa Mini 4K.