Thread: Input Level for URSA

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1 Input Level for URSA 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    1,807
    I'm sending audio signal from a camera line output of field recorder to the URSA XLR input. Does anyone know what the ideal camera input level (in dB) for the audio XLR on the URSAs or have done something similar?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    I sent Line level from a sound devices 302 & MM1 to an ursa mini 4.6k & pro, and i believe I always had it set to 50% or 0db, or maybe gain was even grayed out when you set it to Line, I can't remember. The idea is to set output levels on the field mixer/recorder and leave the camera audio alone. As long as your mixer isn't clipping, the recorded audio on camera shouldn't be either. I had my limiters at +18dbu on my mixer and I don't believe I ever had audio clip in camera.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    USA N. CA
    Posts
    2,833
    On the Ursa camera’s, including the Mini, audio is set to Unity on the camera, when line level input is selected, and the audio level is grayed out.
    Cheers
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member kgimedia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    663
    Quote Originally Posted by Denny Smith View Post
    On the Ursa camera’s, including the Mini, audio is set to Unity on the camera, when line level input is selected, and the audio level is grayed out.
    Cheers
    This bit us in the ass today. Why would they do that? There are several line level standards and some devices don't offer the ability to set output level. We are still reviewing the footage but levels seemed low.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Frank Glencairn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,924
    Usually I first send a pilot tone from my field mixer (0db) to the camera, than I dial the camera in to 0db.

    While recording dialog, I make sure the level hovers around -12db
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member kgimedia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    663
    Quote Originally Posted by Frank Glencairn View Post
    Usually I first send a pilot tone from my field mixer (0db) to the camera, than I dial the camera in to 0db.

    While recording dialog, I make sure the level hovers around -12db
    Our field mixer was stolen at gunpoint on Thursday night. We had a shoot on Sunday and couldn't replace it in time. We decided to go directly from our Zaxcom receiver into the camera. First I ever saw that you can't adjust audio level when Line level is selected.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. Ursa mini pro line level
    By robmneilson in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-09-2017, 09:08 AM
  2. Ursa Mini: Power input polarity / Swapping memory card slots
    By Aatmoss in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-18-2016, 12:35 AM
  3. Digital input for cameras
    By carlmart in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-16-2014, 11:30 AM
  4. Mic input levels BMC
    By scorsesefan in forum Filmmaking - General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-13-2013, 09:04 AM
  5. Manual Metadata Input Option?
    By Cedric Akins in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-06-2012, 12:44 AM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •