Thread: Is anyone shooting Prores in 4.6K resolution?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1 Is anyone shooting Prores in 4.6K resolution? 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    166
    So first, I'm understanding this correct, right? With OS 4.0 you can record prores in 4.6K correct?

    "Added additional ProRes resolutions for URSA Mini 4.6K including 4.6K 16:9, 4.6K 2.4:1, 4K 16:9, 4K DCI, 3K Anamorphic, 2K 16:9 and 2K DCI."

    I haven't seen even 1 comment about this, and yet I thought this was one of the coolest and greatest additions. So, is anyone using this? I know I would be. And to my knowledge, this is the first camera ever to offer prores above 4k. Or at least I've never heard of it. The Kinefinity Terra was going to offer 5k, but that never materialized.

    Also, what is the data rate of Prores HQ at 4.6K?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Hugovandijke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Posts
    234
    It's there, but I thought the frame rate was limited to 40fps (if I remember correctly). I'll check later today.

    Edit: yes, I was right:

    25fps = 15 minutes on a 128gb card
    40fps (max) = 9 minutes on a 128gb card
    Last edited by Hugovandijke; 12-07-2016 at 05:03 AM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    166
    Quote Originally Posted by Hugovandijke View Post
    It's there, but I thought the frame rate was limited to 40fps (if I remember correctly). I'll check later today.

    Edit: yes, I was right:

    25fps = 15 minutes on a 128gb card
    40fps (max) = 9 minutes on a 128gb card
    Thanks for the info. Pretty much what I needed to know.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    794
    If I purchased this camera I would more than likely be shooting ProRes 2k 4444 90% of the time.

    Unless you're doing something FX heavy or you know you're going for theatrical release (or Netflix) I find very little reason to eat up that much memory. Unless your shooting/post set up can accommodate that much space.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    314
    I've shot in ProRes 4.6k once and it turned out really well, esp. given that it was a guerilla style shoot that took place in a restaurant with zero time for lighting setups. Definitely not my preferred way to work but it was sort of a last minute situation for the client.

    Footage turned out great. I want to sit down soon and run some tests on my UM46 to compare, but I could see myself shooting in ProRes a lot.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    104
    I shot ProRes 4.6k a couple weeks ago on a doc sit-down interview, just for the hell of it. Had the 4.6 wide and a BMCC for the CU. Both look great, pretty easy to match. I did 3 ~45 min interviews though, ended the weekend with about 1TB of footage. It's not practical (for doc. For narrative, knock ourselves out.)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Victoria BC Canada
    Posts
    3,979
    Like Sarlacc, i shoot ProRes 444 XQ 2K either in a window or downscaled in camera from 4.6 K. Shoot about a TB or two per month depending on the schedule of course.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member jambredz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Kingston, Jamaica
    Posts
    4,381
    Wish they would have given us 2.5k prores on the BMCC since clearly they can do 4.6k. *Wishful thinking*
    Darren Scott
    Freelance Director/Director of Photography


    https://vimeo.com/jambredzvisions/videos
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    +1 for Darren's wish!!!!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member Liam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    472
    Quote Originally Posted by Sarlacc View Post
    If I purchased this camera I would more than likely be shooting ProRes 2k 4444 90% of the time.

    Unless you're doing something FX heavy or you know you're going for theatrical release (or Netflix) I find very little reason to eat up that much memory. Unless your shooting/post set up can accommodate that much space.
    In 4k at least, I've seen little, to absolute no difference in file sizes between RAW and ProRes 4444
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. Shooting 2.5K resolution from an URSA
    By EYu in forum Cinematography
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-04-2016, 11:17 AM
  2. crop factor for 4.6k ursa when shooting prores
    By paulrossjones in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-22-2016, 08:46 PM
  3. Prores and RAW shooting and Editing Question?
    By luctantem in forum Workflow
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-02-2013, 02:58 AM
  4. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 04-30-2013, 10:57 AM
  5. Dynamic range when shooting ProRes & DNxHD
    By m0fe in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-29-2012, 07:52 AM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •