Thread: Nab 2016

Page 24 of 36 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast
Results 231 to 240 of 356
  1. #231  
    Senior Member Michael Sandiford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Between Arizona and Hereoford
    Posts
    367
    Quote Originally Posted by Josh View Post
    https://vimeo.com/141265598

    Whats not to like? I think it looks great.
    Even with the updates they're still noisy as hell in flat colour areas (Macro blocking has been dealt with but the noise is awful, especially in the blues) and aliasing, that and the motion. First camera where when I see it uploaded to Vimeo or Youtube I don't think its the sites compression causing the noise.
    Last edited by Michael Sandiford; 04-18-2016 at 01:50 AM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #232  
    Senior Member Glornis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    328
    Quote Originally Posted by Kim View Post
    The Micro Cinema/4K certainly looks interesting. Has anyone found any details of it? Hope it would have bigger censor than current micros, and good dynamic range. Looks like it does not need as much cooling as current micros.

    This camera format is great for gimbals and VR.
    I think that the current consensus on this "Micro Cinema/4K" is that it's just an abbreviation of the already-released Micro Cinema Camera and Micro Studio Camera 4K... Just to save some space on that banner.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #233  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    455
    Hopefully if BMD has a new camera it will have much better low light performance up to 6400-12800
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #234  
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    3,116
    Quote Originally Posted by Taikonaut View Post
    Atomos giving free HDR updates for older Samurai/Ninja Blades. Video Assist really need feature updates to stay relevent.

    http://www.newsshooter.com/2016/04/1...-and-assassin/

    https://www.atomos.com/ninja-blade/
    BWAAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

    How do they update a non HDR monitor to "do" HDR ?

    It's moronic. It's like saying your monitor can preview a higher dynamic range than it can display....isn't that what we do now already ??? How does that work exactly ???

    If you want to monitor HDR, then you need to use an actual HDR monitor. Pretty simple.

    JB
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #235  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    408
    Quote Originally Posted by John Brawley View Post
    BWAAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

    How do they update a non HDR monitor to "do" HDR ?

    It's moronic. It's like saying your monitor can preview a higher dynamic range than it can display....isn't that what we do now already ??? How does that work exactly ???

    If you want to monitor HDR, then you need to use an actual HDR monitor. Pretty simple.

    JB
    Ya it's too bad that the term HDR is being abused already...
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #236  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    USA N. CA
    Posts
    3,202
    Quote Originally Posted by NorBro View Post
    Get yourself the Flame and be happy. You don't want to bother with iPads no matter how good they are. Getting the Atomos is also a no brainer to me as you can use it for backup recording and/or with cameras in the future that may offer certain specs only via an external recorder. It also has professional exposure and focusing tools and LUT support built right in, along with audio monitoring and other features.
    You can do the same with the Video Devices Pix E5/7 monitor recorder, and have a higher res monitor, plus the ability to add audio mixing.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #237  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    907
    Quote Originally Posted by John Brawley View Post
    BWAAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

    How do they update a non HDR monitor to "do" HDR ?

    It's moronic. It's like saying your monitor can preview a higher dynamic range than it can display....isn't that what we do now already ??? How does that work exactly ???

    If you want to monitor HDR, then you need to use an actual HDR monitor. Pretty simple.

    JB
    I sold my Shogun on eBay. Picked up a Video Assist from Dragon Image in Artarmon when Blackmagic sent me the Micro to test.

    Friggin' love it. Don't fall for the marketing hype with these much higher-priced monitors, guys. Try a Video Assist - I guarantee you'll love the image and features, let alone the price.
    My Official Blackmagic Micro Footage: https://vimeo.com/155747487
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #238  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    2,001
    Quote Originally Posted by John Brawley View Post
    BWAAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

    How do they update a non HDR monitor to "do" HDR ?

    It's moronic. It's like saying your monitor can preview a higher dynamic range than it can display....isn't that what we do now already ??? How does that work exactly ???

    If you want to monitor HDR, then you need to use an actual HDR monitor. Pretty simple.

    JB
    From Newsshooter...

    "One slight wrinkle: An 8-bit 400nit display cannot technically display HDR. When I spoke to Atomos about this, they did admit that this new firmware enables what they are calling ‘Mid HDR.’ This will allow users shooting in Log to monitor an image that has slightly higher dynamic range than a normal Rec.709 signal. According to Atomos you should be able to see around eight stops of dynamic range, which is roughly two stops more than you could see using a Rec.709 compliant LUT. It will be interesting to see just how well this actually works. Without having seen the new firmware running on a older Atomos device it is hard to say."
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #239  
    Senior Member Frank Glencairn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,030
    Quote Originally Posted by John Brawley View Post


    If you want to monitor HDR, then you need to use an actual HDR monitor. Pretty simple.
    Yeah, I also wonder how SmallHD is getting any real "HDR" out of a 6 bit panel
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #240  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    2,001
    Quote Originally Posted by Denny Smith View Post
    You can do the same with the Video Devices Pix E5/7 monitor recorder, and have a higher res monitor, plus the ability to add audio mixing.
    Yea, I'm just recommending to get an external recorder/monitor vs. an iPad. I prefer the interface of the Shogun/Assassin right now vs. VD and CD, but they are all great.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. Making a DVD in 2016
    By branonplacid in forum Workflow
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-06-2016, 08:12 PM
  2. Nab 2016
    By zachbel08 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 76
    Last Post: 04-01-2016, 12:48 PM
  3. Nab 2016
    By jsfilmz in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 183
    Last Post: 03-30-2016, 02:34 AM
  4. CeBIT 2016
    By iriszhang in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-15-2016, 05:20 AM
  5. Nab 2016
    By IronFilm in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-31-2015, 04:29 PM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •