Thread: 48 FPS URSA footage and resolve

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1 48 FPS URSA footage and resolve 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,113
    Hey folks,

    Have a quick turnaround on an edit, and when I import a few tabletop shots that I shot @ 48FPS I'm just getting a folder filled with DNG's that will not play back as video in the media section. Do I need to plop these down on a timeline to get it to playback as slow-mo video?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Victoria BC Canada
    Posts
    3,979
    Rob, if your project frame rate is set to 24 fps, then when you add a clip that was shot at 48 fps in camera, you'll have your slow motion on the timeline as that will play back at 24 fps.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4,345
    Quote Originally Posted by robmneilson View Post
    Hey folks,

    Have a quick turnaround on an edit, and when I import a few tabletop shots that I shot @ 48FPS I'm just getting a folder filled with DNG's that will not play back as video in the media section. Do I need to plop these down on a timeline to get it to playback as slow-mo video?
    Sounds like dropped frames. What firmware are you running?

    Can you take a screenshot of the DNG folder?

    It should be one clip in the folder, and one audio file as well when looking in R11. If there are a few, there's likely something going on with drops.

    SKYPE (best way to talk to me): Camera_Kholi | twitter
    Avery and Pete: Superseeds Feature Film Trailer
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,113
    Hrm, yes each folder is a bunch of frames and an audio clip when I import it into resolve. I'll take a screenshot once I get back home.

    Was running latest firmware update, and these shots were on a wise 128gb card (which tested 80fps slow mo fine prior to the shoot).

    Thanks for your help Rick & Kholi.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Victoria BC Canada
    Posts
    3,979
    Rob, if you are shooting your tests at 80 fps, your data rate is probably greater than the card is rated for. Roughly your data rate is 400 MB/s but the Wise is only rated at 350 MB/s. Strange your tests seemed to work fine.

    Must be dropped frames as Kholi suggested. Sorry I didn't quite understand your question initially.

    The Lexar 256 GB card should handle that 80 fps data rate. For the shots that appear to have failed, 48 fps is roughly 250 MB/s and Lexar's and Wise should be fine.
    Last edited by rick.lang; 04-28-2015 at 07:12 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,113
    No worries. At the end of the shoot yesterday I popped off three 48FPS shots at the end of a card, so perhaps that explains why the frames were dropped. When I inititally tested them during prep, the Wise card shot 80FPS perfectly fine (on an empty card). I didn't expect it would drop at 48FPS however.

    Home in a few and will take some screenshots.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Victoria BC Canada
    Posts
    3,979
    So it might even be related to the MLC issue where the writes to the second level of cells on a card take twice as much work as the first level cell writes (if CFast 2 cards use multi-level cells for storage like SSDs).
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,113
    Just opened it up in resolve (didn't have time in the AM as I needed to set a proxy render on all the footage and leave the house). But definetely dropped frames.

    Screen Shot 2015-04-28 at 7.33.12 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2015-04-28 at 7.32.25 PM.jpg
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member k Stark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Metro Detroit
    Posts
    375
    FWIW
    http://www.bmcuser.com/showthread.ph...=dropped+frame
    think the link is still good.
    "Senior Member"???... Really???...
    Not to be taken seriously...by anyone.....
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,113
    Thanks for that...might be worth messing with to duplicate the frames. Luckilly the 48FPS stuff the client didn't want, but I just shot it anyway...so no real loss. But good to know in the future don't A) do it on a Wise card that's 90% full B) Just use Lexar C) LEXAR!
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. URSA 4.6K Footage
    By CaptainHook in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 254
    Last Post: 12-27-2017, 04:59 AM
  2. URSA & BMP4K footage for West Elm
    By kyleoz in forum Footage / Frames
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-05-2015, 12:14 PM
  3. URSA sports footage from a football game - 60FPS
    By ranger9913 in forum Footage / Frames
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-02-2015, 06:34 PM
  4. Great new Coloristas Podcast on Resolve 12 and Ursa
    By Frank Glencairn in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-21-2015, 11:43 AM
  5. URSA Beta Footage
    By CaptainHook in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 93
    Last Post: 09-17-2014, 03:12 PM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •